Flashback Friday

I just saw a Mike Diana comic online.  Google search his name, to see his work.  It flashed me back to my past. My dad urinated on me when drunk when I was in elementary school.  He saw it in a TV movie when he was drunk.  I did that to a boyfriend I lived with when I was 19 years old.  I was with a man who was 6 years older than me; we both worked and I went to college full time and worked full time.  He would go out drinking and get home late and his habits would cause him to pay rent late.  I was on the lease.  One night, ignoring my assignment for the next day, I got myself drunk with 40 ounce malt liquors from the corner store.

I argued with him as usual, but I also urinated on him.  He beat me, I got a black eye and a swollen left side of my face.  I grew up being told that I was loved, I was experiencing the whips of love, and that my classmates in school who weren’t beaten were unloved by their parents.  I don’t know if this normalized my parents’ behavior to me, but it was in my vocabulary of “what people do to those they love”

I want to end this short post with this link:

 

Leave a Reply

